The reality of dementia

Today is a sad day in country music. The talented Glen Campbell passed away from a long battle with Alzheimer’s. I grew up listening to him with my dad. His death has hit me a bit harder than any other star’s death. 

It’s the realization that my mom will eventually subcom to this horrible disease. My mom is on the losing end of a long battle and his death just reinforced it. 

Dementia and Alzheimer’s does not know age, sex, race, talent, or intelligence. It robs everyone the same. My first band director I ever had, the teacher that had the confidence in me to be able to play the clarinet, passed away from Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. He was an amazing teacher, mentor, and all around person. 

I know the battle that each person has with this horrible disease is all a bit different, but yet, all the same. The tears that are cried when the person who should know them doesn’t. The frustration of trying to get them to do something that is needed. The sadness that who they are on the inside is dying. The look on their face when they know what they are trying to say won’t come out because they don’t know how to articulate it. 

I know his wife and family are saddened by his death, but hopefully they are rejoicing at the fact that he has been made whole again. RIP Glen Campbell, you were an amazing talent. I leave you with these, a couple of my favorites. 

Rhinestone Cowboy
I’m Going to Miss You

Author: acespeach

I am 36 yrs old. Married for 18 yrs, have an almost 16 yr old son. And learning to navigate through the journey of losing my mother.

Leave a Reply

